According to court documents, this Illinois man engaged in multiple acts of sexual contact with a minor child in 2020. The authorities levied three charges against the Illinois man in December. But the prosecution dropped two of the charges pursuant to a plea agreement.
Even though the Illinois man in question already received their sentence, it seems appropriate to review the Illinois statutes governing regular and aggravated criminal sexual abuse.
Criminal Sexual Abuse
- Commit a sexual act through the use or threat of force; or
- Commit a sexual act, knowing that the victim is unable to comprehend the act or provide consent.
Any person who violates the laws above is guilty of a Class 4 felony on the first offense. If convicted, the punishment can include criminal fines up to $25,000 and a prison sentence between one and three years.
The second version of criminal sexual abuse relates to the respective ages of the perpetrator and victim. It is unlawful to commit an act of sexual conduct or penetration, if:
- The perpetrator is under 17 years old, and the victim is between 9 and 16 years old; or
- The victim is between 13 and 16 years old, and the perpetrator is at least five years older than the victim.
Any person who violates the laws above is guilty of a Class A misdemeanor. If convicted, the punishment can include a maximum of $2,500 in criminal fines and 364 days in county jail.
Aggravated Criminal Sexual Abuse
The Illinois laws against aggravated criminal sexual abuse appear at 720 ILCS 5/11-1.60. Under this section, criminal sexual abuse abuse typically becomes an aggravated offense if the perpetrator also:
- Displays, threatens to use, or uses a dangerous weapon or any other object that the victim reasonably believes to be a dangerous weapon;
- Causes bodily harm to the victim;
- Commits the offense against a elderly or disabled victim;
- Endangers the life of the victim or any other person;
- Commits a separate felony at the same time; or
- Delivers a controlled substance to the victim for non-medical purposes and without the victim’s consent.
Any person who commits aggravated criminal sexual abuse is guilty of a Class 2 felony. If convicted, the punishment can include criminal fines up to $25,000 and a prison sentence between three and seven years.
Do You Need Legal Help?
No matter what the criminal offense, all charges are serious. A sound strategy and an aggressive defense are essential for a positive outcome. To protect your rights in such situations, it is highly advisable to retain legal counsel from an experienced criminal defense attorney.
The Prior Law Firm in Bloomington, Illinois, has proven experience in matters of criminal defense. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free consultation. You can reach The Prior Law Firm by phone at (309) 827-4300, email at firstname.lastname@example.org or by completing an online form.