A 65-year-old woman from Virden, Illinois, faces criminal charges for driving under the influence (DUI), after losing control and crashing into another vehicle, according to an article by The State Journal-Register. This drunk driving incident occurred at approximately 5:10 p.m. on Illinois Route 4, not far from Alpha Road. At that time, the Virden woman began to swerve and went onto the right shoulder. Then she overcorrected, bringing the vehicle back onto the road and across the center driving line. That is when the Virden woman collided with another vehicle traveling in the opposite direction.
After the collision, both vehicles eventually came to rest on the west side of Illinois Route 4. First responders arrived and discovered that the Virden woman crashed into a car containing a 73-year-old woman and 4-year-old boy, both from Springfield, Illinois.
First responders rushed both the Virden and Springfield women as well as the boy to a nearby hospital for medical treatment. Authorities revealed that the Springfield woman sustained life-threatening injuries as a result of the car crash.
After receiving medical treatment for her injuries, the Virden woman was charged with DUI, improper lane usage, failure to reduce speed and operating a car with a suspended driver’s license. Considering the grave consequences of this incident, it seems like a suitable time to review Illinois laws and penalties concerning DUI.
What is the Illinois Definition of DUI?
Under Illinois law, it is unlawful to operate a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If alcohol, drugs, or a combination render a person unable to drive safely, then Illinois DUI laws apply.
The legal limit for drivers who drink is a blood-alcohol concentration of 0.08%. If a driver registers a BAC level of 0.08% or higher, then the driver is considered impaired and unable to drive safely.
What are the Illinois Penalties for DUI?
On the first or second DUI offense, it is a misdemeanor crime in Illinois. The standard penalties include driver’s license suspension for one to five years and vehicle registration suspension. There is also the possibility of community service requirements or even a short stint in jail.
If a person commits a third DUI offense, or other aggravating factors exist, then the crime escalates to the level of aggravated DUI. At that point, the crime is a felony with increased sentences for jail time and even lifetime driver’s license suspension.
Do You Need Legal Help?
No matter what the criminal offense, all criminal charges are serious. A sound strategy and an aggressive defense are essential for a positive outcome. To protect your rights in such situations, it is highly advisable to retain legal counsel from an experienced criminal defense attorney.
The Prior Law Firm in Bloomington, Illinois has proven experience in criminal defense. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free consultation. You can reach The Prior Law Firm by phone at (309) 827-4300, email at firstname.lastname@example.org or by completing an online form.
(image courtesy of Chris Montgomery)