After arresting the Mississippi man, the authorities charged him with felony possession of marijuana with intent to deliver. The man had between 500 and 2,000 grams of marijuana in his possession. Additionally, the Mississippi man was in possession of a stolen handgun. He also faces two misdemeanor charges for unlawful possession of a firearm without a Firearm Owner’s Identification (FOID) card.
At this point, the Mississippi man neglected to post bail in the amount of $20,035 and, thus, remains in police custody. While he awaits the next steps in his legal case, it seems pertinent to review Illinois laws concerning possession with intent to deliver as well as two versions of unlawful possession of firearms.
Possession With Intent to Deliver
Illinois law under 720 ILCS 550/5 provides a general prohibition against possession of marijuana with intent to deliver or manufacture. But state law does carve out an exception for state-licensed providers and facilities.
Any person who violates Section 5 is subject to a multi-tiered penalty structure based on the amount of marijuana in question. For example, if a person possesses 500 to 2,000 grams of marijuana with intent to deliver, it is a Class 2 felony. If convicted, the offender can face up to $100,000 in criminal fines and a prison sentence between three and seven years.
Possession of a Stolen Firearm
Illinois law under 720 ILCS 5/24-3.8 restricts any person from knowingly possessing a stolen firearm. To qualify as a violation, a person must know — or have a reason to know — that the firearm is stolen.
Any person who violates Section 3.8 is guilty of a Class 2 felony in Illinois. If convicted for this offense, the offender can face up to $25,000 in criminal fines and a prison sentence between three and seven years.
Unlawful Possession of a Firearm
Illinois law under 430 ILCS 65/2 requires every person in possession of a firearm to have a valid and current FOID card. Gun owners with expired FOID cards can face charges under this section.
Typically, a violation of Section 2 qualifies as a Class A misdemeanor. If convicted at this level, the offender can face a maximum of $2,500 in criminal fines and 364 days in jail.
Do You Need Legal Help?
No matter what the criminal offense, all charges are serious. A sound strategy and an aggressive defense are essential for a positive outcome. To protect your rights in such situations, it is highly advisable to retain legal counsel from an experienced criminal defense attorney.
The Prior Law Firm in Bloomington, Illinois, has proven experience in matters of criminal defense. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free consultation. You can reach The Prior Law Firm by phone at (309) 827-4300, email at firstname.lastname@example.org or by completing an online form.