A man from Bloomington, Illinois, faces felony charges for failure to register as a sex offender, according to an article by The Pantagraph. More specifically, the Illinois man failed to report a change of address, which is required for registered sex offenders.
Local authorities arrested the Illinois man on Sunday, November 13, for allegedly moving and failing to report the change of address. This Illinois man was convicted in 2015 for a child pornography charge, which led to required registration as a sex offender.
At this point, the Illinois man remains in police custody facing a 10 percent bond set at $10,000. While this man awaits a December 9 arraignment, it seems fitting to review several aspects of Illinois law concerning sex offender registration.
When is Sex Offender Registration Required?
Under Illinois law, a conviction for certain sex-related crimes requires registering as a sex offender. These criminal offenses include but are not limited to:
- Indecent solicitation of a child/adult;
- Sexual exploitation of a child;
- Soliciting/patronizing/pimping juvenile prostitutes;
- Regular/aggravated child pornography;
- Predatory criminal sexual assault of a child;
- Forcible detention of minors under 18 years old;
- Regular/aggravated criminal sexual assault;
- Regular/aggravated criminal sexual abuse;
- Custodial sexual misconduct;
- Public indecency (third or subsequent conviction);
- Pandering/patronizing/pimping of minors under 18 years old;
- Regular/aggravated kidnapping of minors under 18 years old; and
- Unlawful restraint of minors under 18 years old.
What is the Penalty for Failure to Register?
Any person who fails to register as a sex offender can face the penalty structure under 730 ILCS 150/10. There are several different charges and applicable penalties for violations of the sex offender registration requirements.
Any person who knowingly or willingly provides false material information in connection with sex offender registration will typically face Class 3 felony charges. The Illinois punishment for a Class 3 felony includes a prison sentence between two and five years and criminal fines up to $25,000.
Any person who fails to register, changes their name, or otherwise violates Section 10 will also likely face Class 3 felony charges on the first offense. But on the second or subsequent offense, the charge enhances to a Class 2 felony. The Illinois punishment for a Class 2 felony includes a prison sentence between three and seven years and criminal fines up to $25,000.
Do You Need Legal Help?
No matter what the criminal offense is, all charges are serious. A sound strategy and an aggressive defense are essential for a positive outcome. To protect your rights in such situations, it is highly advisable to retain legal counsel from an experienced criminal defense attorney.
The Prior Law Firm in Bloomington, Illinois, has proven experience in matters of criminal defense. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free consultation. You can reach The Prior Law Firm by phone at (309) 827-4300, email at firstname.lastname@example.org, or by completing an online form.