In the wake of yet another mass shooting, the Illinois General Assembly passed several pieces of legislation to improve statewide gun control, according to an article by the Belleville News-Democrat.
In order to grasp the significance of these changes, the following sections will provide an overview of each specific gun control bill.
Minimum Age for Certain Weapons
Officially referred to as HB1465, this bill makes it unlawful for a person under 21 years old to possess an assault rifle, assault rifle modification, .50-caliber rifle or .50-caliber ammunition in Illinois. HB1465 also makes it unlawful to sell, gift or otherwise deliver this category of firearm to a person under 21 years old.
HB1465 also addresses feeding devices that are capable of loading a firearm with large quantities of ammunition. In the future, it will be unlawful to sell, gift or otherwise deliver such feeding devices to a person under 21 years old.
Prohibition on Bump Stocks
Officially referred to as HB1467, this bill makes it unlawful to possess a bump stock, trigger crank, or similar firearm modification in Illinois. This style of firearm modification allows nearly automatic fire from a semi-automatic weapon. Moving forward, Illinois will make it a crime to possess, manufacture or distribute bump stocks and similar firearm modifications.
Waiting Period for Certain Weapons
Officially referred to as HB1468, this bill adjusts the waiting period for the purchase of an assault rifle or similar firearm. Specifically, Illinois will require firearm dealers to withhold delivery of assault rifles for at least 72 hours.
If a gun dealer does not comply with this new requirement, then the gun dealer may be guilty of a Class 4 felony. That type of felony crime is punishable by up to three years in jail, 30 months of probation, and $25,000 in fines.
Licensing Requirements for Gun Dealers
Officially referred to as SB1657, this bill institutes a licensing requirement for all gun dealers operating in Illinois. Specifically, gun dealers must obtain a license from the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation. The five-year license will cost gun dealers $1,000. This is significantly higher than federal gun licensing requirements, which cost $100 for a three-year license.
That being said, Illinois does provide an exception. If gun sales represent less than 20% of a retailer’s overall revenue, then that retailer is exempt from the new licensing requirements.
Do You Need Legal Help?
No matter what the criminal offense, all criminal charges are serious. A sound strategy and an aggressive defense are essential for a positive outcome. To protect your rights in such situations, it is highly advisable to retain legal counsel from an experienced criminal defense attorney.
The Prior Law Firm in Bloomington, Illinois, has proven experience in matters of criminal defense. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free consultation. You can reach The Prior Law Firm by phone at (309) 827-4300, email at firstname.lastname@example.org or by completing an online form.
(image courtesy of Quentin Kemmel)