When a driver commits a moving or traffic violation in Illinois, such as driving under the influence (DUI), the driver receives demerit points on his or her driver’s license. The number of points assessed will depend on the circumstances of the offense.
How Does Illinois Assess Driver’s License Points?
Illinois employs a tiered system for assessing driver’s license points for moving violations. Minor violations result in low point totals, whereas major violations, especially those that endanger other people or property, result in high point totals.
Please find below a breakdown of common moving violations and the corresponding number of points.
- Driving with a broken or malfunctioning head, side, or tail light results in 10 points;
- Driving below the minimum speed limit results in 5 points;
- Driving 1-10 miles per hour above the maximum speed limit results in 5 points;
- Driving 11-14 miles per hour above the maximum speed limit results in 15 points;
- Driving 15-25 miles per hour above the maximum speed limit results in 20 points;
- Driving more than 25 miles per hour above the maximum speed limit results in 50 points;
- Ignoring a traffic control device results in 20 points; and
- Reckless driving results in 55 points.
For a complete breakdown of all moving violations and the corresponding point infraction, please reference the Illinois Offense Table.
Are Driver’s License Points Permanent in Illinois?
In short, no, driver’s license points are not permanent in Illinois. Certain traffic violations stay on a driver’s record longer than others. In most cases:
- Minor traffic violations remain on a driver’s record for up to five years; and
- Major traffic violations remain on a driver’s record for at least seven years.
What are the Penalties for Traffic Violations in Illinois?
The penalties in Illinois for traffic violations change based on the age of the offender and the number of offenses. Specifically:
- For adults above 21 years of age — Three or more traffic violations within a 12-month period can result in driver’s license suspension or revocation; and
- For minors under 21 years of age — Two or more traffic violations within a 24-month period can result in driver’s license suspension or revocation.
In addition to legal penalties, driver’s license points can affect automotive liability insurance. Drivers with multiple moving violations and high point totals may see an increase in their insurance premium.
Finally, excessive point accumulation can be extremely damaging to truck drivers and other commercial drivers. If these drivers have multiple moving violations and high point totals, they may have trouble maintaining their commercial driver’s license.
Do You Need Legal Help?
No matter what the criminal offense, all criminal charges are serious. A sound strategy and an aggressive defense are essential for a positive outcome. To protect your rights in such situations, it is highly advisable to retain legal counsel from an experienced criminal defense attorney.
The Prior Law Firm in Bloomington, Illinois, has proven experience in matters of criminal defense. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free consultation. You can reach The Prior Law Firm by phone at (309) 827-4300, email at firstname.lastname@example.org or by completing an online form.
(image courtesy of Zach Meaney)