A former police officer from Moline, Illinois, faces charges for aggravated assault and aggravated discharge of a firearm after shooting a gun from his convertible, according to an article by WQAD.
This incident occurred on September 12th at approximately 6 p.m. in the 2500 block of the Avenue of the Cities. That is when the Illinois State Police arrived at the scene responding to reports of gunshots.
Initial investigations indicated that the Moline man discharged several gunshots from his convertible. Thankfully, those gunshots did not cause harm or injury to any bystanders.
As a result of this incident, the authorities apprehended the Moline man and charged him with:
- Two counts of aggravated assault; and
- Two counts of aggravated discharge of a firearm.
The authorities also transported the Moline man to the Scott County Jail, where he was held on a $250,000 bond. While this legal case plays out in court, it seems like an opportune occasion to review the Illinois penalties for the aggravated versions of assault and discharge of a firearm.
720 ILCS 5/12-2 furnishes the Illinois penalties for aggravated assault. In the least severe cases, aggravated assault is a Class A misdemeanor. The potential penalties for this level of misdemeanor include confinement for 364 days, fines up to $2,500, and probation for 24 months.
If a person commits aggravated assault with certain weapons — or commits the offense against certain government employees — it can become a Class 4 felony. The potential penalties for that level of felony include confinement for one to three years, fines up to $25,000, and probation for 30 months.
Finally, aggravated assault can even become a Class 3 felony for certain offenses involving motor vehicles. At that level, the potential penalties include confinement for two to five years, fines up to $25,000, and probation for 30 months.
Aggravated Discharge of a Firearm
720 ILCS 5/24-1.2 provides the Illinois penalties for aggravated discharge of a firearm. In many cases, aggravated discharge of a firearm is a Class 1 felony. The potential penalties for that level of felony include confinement for four to 15 years, fines up to $25,000, and probation for 48 months.
In the most extreme cases — such as offenses committed on or around school property — aggravated discharge of a firearm can become a Class X felony. The potential penalties for that level of felony include confinement for six to 30 years and fines up to $25,000. Illinois law does not allow probation for Class X felonies.
Do You Need Legal Help?
No matter what the criminal offense, all charges are serious. A sound strategy and an aggressive defense are essential for a positive outcome. To protect your rights in such situations, it is highly advisable to retain legal counsel from an experienced criminal defense attorney.
The Prior Law Firm in Bloomington, Illinois, has proven experience in matters of criminal defense. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free consultation. You can reach The Prior Law Firm by phone at (309) 827-4300, email at email@example.com or by completing an online form.