The Illinois Criminal Code prohibits a variety of theft crimes, including several different versions of robbery. Even though robbery crimes always involve the use or threat of force, there are subtle differences between regular, aggravated, and armed robbery. Furthermore, the Illinois punishment for these crimes escalates sharply based on the type of offense in question.
720 ILCS 5/18-1 provides the Illinois laws against robbery. Under this section, it is unlawful to knowingly:
- Take another person’s property from their person or presence; and
- Employ force or the imminent threat of force to complete the act.
Any person who commits robbery in violation of Section 18-1 will likely face Class 2 felony charges. If convicted, the punishment can include imprisonment for three to seven years and criminal fines up to $25,000.
There is an important exception in this context. Section 18-1 does not apply to the theft of motor vehicles. That offense is referred to as carjacking and prohibited under a separate section of the Illinois Criminal Code.
- Aggravated Robbery
Section 18-1 also furnishes the Illinois laws against aggravated robbery. Under this section, a standard robbery offense becomes aggravated robbery if the perpetrator also:
- Indicates to the victim that they are in possession of a dangerous weapon, even if the perpetrator does not actually have such a weapon; or
- Delivers a controlled substance to the victim, in the absence of consent or medical necessity.
Any person who commits aggravated robbery in violation of Section 18-1 will likely face Class 1 felony charges. If convicted, the punishment can include imprisonment for four to 15 years and criminal fines up to $25,000.
- Armed Robbery
720 ILCS 5/18-2 establishes the Illinois laws against armed robbery. Under this section, armed robbery applies when a person commits robbery and also:
- Carries a dangerous weapon on or about their person, other than a firearm;
- Carries a firearm on or about their person;
- Discharges a firearm during the offense; or
- Causes great bodily harm, permanent disability/disfigurement, or death by discharging a firearm during the offense.
Any person who commits armed robbery in violation of Section 18-2 will likely face Class X felony charges. Though the exact punishment changes based on the circumstances of the offense, as explained below:
- Dangerous Weapon Possession — Imprisonment for six to 30 years and criminal fines up to $25,000;
- Firearm Possession — Additional 15 years imprisonment added to the sentence;
- Firearm Discharge — Additional 20 years imprisonment added to the sentence; or
- Firearm Injury/Death — Additional 25 years imprisonment added to the sentence.
Do You Need Legal Help?
No matter what the criminal offense, all charges are serious. A sound strategy and an aggressive defense are essential for a positive outcome. To protect your rights in such situations, it is highly advisable to retain legal counsel from an experienced criminal defense attorney.
The Prior Law Firm in Bloomington, Illinois, has proven experience in matters of criminal defense. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free consultation. You can reach The Prior Law Firm by phone at (309) 827-4300, email at firstname.lastname@example.org or by completing an online form.