How Does Illinois Address and Punish Criminal Sexual Abuse?

Under Illinois law, criminal sexual abuse occurs when a perpetrator engages in sexual conduct or sexual penetration without the victim’s consent. Similarly, it is unlawful for a perpetrator to force a victim into sexual conduct or penetration. Illinois law also provides specific protections for victims who are minor children.

From a legal standpoint, there are essentially two different types of criminal sexual abuse under 720 ILCS 5/11-1.50. This section prohibits criminal sexual abuse based on age difference between perpetrator and victim and use of force or lack of consent.

Age Difference Between Perpetrator and Victim

In certain cases, a person can commit criminal sexual abuse based on age difference between the perpetrator and victim. Specifically, Illinois law prohibits any act of sexual conduct or penetration when the:

    Perpetrator is less than 17 years old, and victim is between 9 and 17 years old; or Victim is between 13 and
[...]

How Does Illinois Penalize Fake IDs?

Valid ID cards allow government and business actors to verify a person’s name, birth date and other important details. Unfortunately, many people use fake IDs to circumvent laws and regulations, such as minimum age requirements for tobacco or alcohol. To mitigate this risk, the State of Illinois imposes broad-sweeping laws against the use or sale of fake IDs.

Fake ID Laws in Illinois

Under 15 ILCS 335/14B, it is unlawful to knowingly:

    Possess or display a fake ID; Possess or display a fake ID for the purpose of obtaining a banking, financial or retail account; Possess a fake ID with the intent to commit theft, deception or fraud; Possess a fake ID with the intent to commit other crimes with imprisonment sentences; Possess a fake ID while in the unauthorized possession of a device capable of fraud; Possess a fake ID with the intent to obtain another identification document;
[...]

The Manufacture or Delivery of Methamphetamine in Illinois

Recognizing that methamphetamine poses a serious threat to public health and safety, Illinois established the Methamphetamine Control and Community Protection Act. Codified as 720 ILCS 646, this act makes it a felony crime to manufacture or deliver methamphetamine in Illinois.

Manufacture of Methamphetamine

Under 720 ILCS 646/15, it is unlawful to knowingly participate in the manufacture of methamphetamine. In this context, Illinois law defines participation broadly. If a person attempts to produce methamphetamine — even if they are unsuccessful — it is a crime under Illinois law.

The penalties for participating in methamphetamine manufacturing vary based on the amount of illegal drugs produced. For example, participation in methamphetamine manufacturing of:

    Less than 15 grams is a Class 1 felony with an imprisonment term of four to 15 years and criminal fines of $25,000; Between 15 and 100 grams is a Class X felony with an imprisonment term of six
[...]

Aggravated Discharge of a Firearm in Illinois

One very serious weapon crime in Illinois is the aggravated discharge of a firearm. This offense is reserved for careless gun users who discharge their weapons haphazardly at other people. Given the extreme danger of these weapons, the state of Illinois specifically prohibits this type of dangerous firearm use. To understand the boundaries of this offense, the following sections will review the definition of and penalties for aggravated discharge of a firearm in Illinois.

What is the Definition of Aggravated Discharge of a Firearm?

The definition of aggravated discharge of a firearm appears in 720 ILCS 5/24-1.2. A person commits this offense if they knowingly and intentionally discharge a firearm at or in the direction of a(n):

    Building that is occupied by a person; Person or a vehicle occupied by a person; Law enforcement officer, firefighter, or similar government agent engaged in the performance of their official duties;
[...]