Jan 6

A man from Bloomington, Illinois, faces multiple charges for predatory criminal sexual assault of a child, according to an article by The Pantagraph

The Bloomington Police Department arrested the 51-year-old man in question on Thursday, January 5. The next day, the authorities charged this man with 15 counts of predatory criminal sexual assault. 

Court documents indicate that the crimes in question happened between 2009 and 2011. Each of those counts represents a Class X felony. That class of felony is not eligible for probation or conditional discharge under Illinois law.

Though the court case and applicable legal process remain ongoing, the Illinois man remains in police custody on a $1 million bond with 10 percent required to apply for release. The next court date is an arraignment presently scheduled for January 27. 

While this legal situation continues to advance, it seems fitting to review the Illinois laws against and penalties for predatory criminal sexual assault.  

Illinois Laws Against Predatory Criminal Sexual Assault

The Illinois laws against predatory criminal sexual assault appear at 720 ILCS 5/11-1.40. There are several versions of this offense with specific variations. 

At a minimum, predatory criminal sexual assault requires the perpetrator to be at least 17 years old and the victim to be under 13 years old. In these cases, it is unlawful for the perpetrator to:

  • Commit an act of sexual penetration with the victim; or 
  • Initiate any contact with the victim for the purpose of sexual arousal or gratification.

The other versions of predatory criminal assault include even more serious factors. For example, the penalties for this offense can increase if the perpetrator also:

  • Possessed a firearm;
  • Discharged a firearm;
  • Caused debilitating or life-threatening harm; or
  • Delivered any controlled substance without medical justification. 

Illinois Penalties for Predatory Criminal Sexual Assault

Section 11-1.40 also outlines the Illinois penalties for predatory criminal sexual assault. The threshold charge for this offense is a Class X felony with a mandatory sentence of six to 60 years in prison.

In the presence of the factors described above, however, predatory criminal sexual assault can include a lengthened prison sentence. If the perpetrator:

  • Possessed a firearm — The prison sentence increases by 15 years;
  • Discharged a firearm — The prison sentence increases by 20 years;
  • Caused debilitating or life-threatening harm — The prison sentence increases by 50 years or a life sentence; or
  • Delivered any controlled substance — The prison sentence includes a minimum of 50 to 60 years.

Do You Need Legal Help?

No matter what the criminal offense is, all charges are serious. A sound strategy and an aggressive defense are essential for a positive outcome. To protect your rights in such situations, it is highly advisable to retain legal counsel from an experienced criminal defense attorney.

The Prior Law Firm in Bloomington, Illinois, has proven experience in matters of criminal defense. If you need legal help with criminal defense, contact us today for a free consultation. You can reach The Prior Law Firm by phone at (309) 827-4300, email at johnprior@thepriorlawfirm.com, or by completing an online form.